thelongnwindingroad). He visited Bangkok the first time in 1876, carried back teak wood to Europe and established the trading company "Andersen&Co" in 1884. The East Asiatic Company Ltd. was founded in Copenhagen on 27 March 1897 and listed on the Copenhagen Stock Exchange. H.N. Andersen was appointed Managing Director. The plan was to operate a shipping line between Europe and the Far East, in co-operation with trading and industrial activities. Bangkok became the Company’s first overseas branch office. In 1898 the steamship "SIAM" left Copenhagen, inaugurating the EAC service to the Far East. The company became central to developing trade between Thailand and the rest of the world. It built a pier and started with running teak concessions in the north and importing goods via the Chao Phraya River.
The EAC was welcomed by King Chulalongkorn (Rama V). During his time the Asian countries were under threat of invasion from European powers. King Chulalongkorn decided to establish trading relations with western powers. So he saved Siam from being colonized.
See more pictures by Sutee .C
Now this heritage is going to be reflected by Bangkoks newest shopping experience: Asiatique The Riverfront, an open-air mall, a fusion of shopping, dining, entertainment and colonial-style architecture on the location of the old port of the East Asiatique Company. The Joe Louis Theatre with its Thai puppets, also known as "Nattayasala Hun Lakorn Lek" and founded by Sakorn Yangkhieosod, will have a comeback in june 2012. It had to close at Suan Lum Night Bazaar, that was shut in 2010.
The ladyboy show by Calypso Cabaret - actuallay at the Asia hotel - is moving here in august (earlier may was planned), eateries join retail shops selling Thai antiques and design, home décor, clothes and spa products. Some of the shops are outlets or branches from existing shops in Chatuchak market. A lot of the area is still under construction, hotels are planned, but a part is already finished and open for business (see first impressions from April 2012). At the end the shopping and entertainment area should cover 28,880 acres and count 1500 shops. See the project on yotube.com. Open from 17.00 till 24.00 pm. A "Grand Opening" event took place from 27 till 28 april 2012.
Project owner is TCC Land Group, which is is owned by Thai beverage tycoon Charoen Sirivadhanabhakdi.
"The shopping and dining is not very sophisticated, at least at this stage", notes krungthep101.net. "The only dining you'll find are the usual suspects: KFC, MK and some smaller franchises". But there is more to come.Some restaurants and shops on the web:The Pizza Company
Kimju Korean Royale Cuisine เอเชียทีคเดอะริ
9e furniture bar
The Riva Shop
How to go there:Fromt BTS Saphan Taksin take the shuttle boat to the Asiatique pier. See the timetable:
Bangrak บางรัก Walking Tour: A plenty of colourful contrasts
#MyKrungthep: Your Guide to Bangkok